Day 2 Part II: Language Barriers

So I arrive through the domestic terminal of my destination and await my baggage. It took about an hour to realize that it really wasn’t gonna come through. I kept standing there after everyone got their luggage and left giving me pitied and concerned looks. I was a wreck. What if my luggage never made it on to the second plane? 

Luckily there was a lost baggage counter right around the corner filled with about 50 identical looking hand-bags, none of which were mine. Thankfully, the woman could also understand a bit of english and tld me to sprint all the way across the airport to the international customs where my luggage most probably was. So I run across along the outside of the airport and re-enter at the international terminal, where I had to struggle with a non-English speaking guard and explain how I’d arrived through domestic but was actually an international traveler.img_20170105_135008315_hdr

So there I am, with my 30kg heavy suitcase refusing to be easily dragged across the rigid airport floor. I took a deep breath, put on my coat and beanie and snapped this pic of long due for replacement Christmas
decorations.

And then stepped out the doors and into the snow covered pavement. This is what freezing temperature felt like, something I’d never witnessed before. With a frozen jaw and numb ear cartilage I dragged my luggage down the path to the taxi park area.

Going down the lane one by one asking every driver if they spoke English. Almost gave up by the end of it, trying to explain to them where I was headed and struggling to use google translator on the fly, while it refused to recognize their accents or whatever they were saying.

img_20170105_135850433
The aforementioned snowy pavement.

I finally get to this one guy who says “yes yes English” good enough for me, I think to myself. Starting to explain the name of my university which I didnt know was also just the name of the area of the city the university is in. So while I’m struggling with my cab driver to be, a person overhears my struggle and asks if I’m in need of translation. A god sent professor coincidentally from the same university where I was headed, he was waiting for someone whom I assumed was his lover, because in his hands was a nice little bouquet filled with tulips and daisies ( another reminder of how I’d left Asia and was deep in the depths of Europe). He explained to the driver where I needed to go and also explained to me how much he should charge me, anything more and I was clearly being mugged (I’d been mugged by SIM salesmen already so I took this warning to heart).

BTW, I think this deserves a mention, my driver was really into Taylor Swift and Nick Jonas, kept playing them over and over.

The journey was about 40 mins long and all I could do was adore the white pure luscious imagery around me. Everything from the trees to the streets covered in glistening moisture. The towers, mosques and church bells all hailing as pillars of warmth arising from the dusk beneath.

I was finally here after a long tiresome and nerve wracking trip, my registration process went smoother than expected and in only a short freight of luggage dragging strength I was in my dorm and ready to rest.

BONUS: Too calm my nerves down a bit, I also happened to spot a little kitty at the entrance of the dorm, whom I picked up and greeted with love, she later followed me into my room and spent the whole day there. *Marvel post credit announcement* this cat will return in future posts. 

img-20170106-wa0004

 

 

Tell Me Your Thoughts

